Kwame Alexander - Bio and Creative Works

Kwame Alexander

CHILDREN'S WRITER
Born
1950
Age
72
Citizenship
United States of America
Place of Birth
Manhattan
Bio

Kwame Alexander is an American writer of poetry and children's fiction. His verse novel The Crossover won the 2015 Newbery Medal recognizing the year's "most distinguished contribution to American literature for children." - Wikipedia

Related Content

Features Mentions
Reviews   1 -
Podcast Episodes   1 -
All   2 -

Select Creative Works

BOOK • 2023

by Kwame Alexander

A companion to the Newbery Medal-winning middle grade novel The Crossover, the basis of the show streaming on Disney+!
What can we imagine for our lives? What if we were the star players, moving and grooving through the game of life? What if we had our own rules of the game to help us get what we want, what we aspire to, what will enrich our lives?
Illustrated with photographs by Thai Neave, The Playbook is intended to provide inspiration on the court of life. Each rule contains wisdom from inspiring athletes and role models such as Nelson Mandela, Serena Williams, LeBron James, Carli Lloyd, Steph Curry, and Michelle Obama. Kwame Alexander also shares his own stories of overcoming obstacles and winning games in this motivational and inspirational book for readers of any age and for anyone needing a little bit of encouragement.
You gotta know the rules to play the game. Ball is life. Take it to the hoop. Soar.

BOOK • 2013

by Kwame Alexander

Sparks will fly in this hip-hop-hot teen novel that mixes social protest and star-crossed romance, from Newbery Medal and Coretta Scott King Honor–winning author Kwame Alexander! He Said, She Said is perfect for fans of Walter Dean Myers and Rachel Vail alike. This paperback edition includes a Q&A with author Kwame Alexander.
He says: Omar "T-Diddy" Smalls has got it made—a full football ride to UMiami, hero-worship status at school, and pick of any girl at West Charleston High. She says: Football, shmootball. Here's what Claudia Clarke cares about: Harvard, the poor, the disenfranchised, the hungry, the staggering teen pregnancy rate, investigative journalism . . . the list goes on. She does not have a minute to waste on Mr. T-Diddy Smalls and his harem of bimbos.
He Said, She Said is a fun and fresh novel from Kwame Alexander that throws these two high school seniors together when they unexpectedly end up leading the biggest social protest this side of the Mississippi—with a lot of help from Facebook and Twitter. The stakes are high, the romance is hot, and when these worlds collide, watch out!

What is Founce?   •   Copyright Info   •   Privacy Policy   •   Contact Us
Updates, announcements and more: